Online Research
Mobile Apps
All databases are available from home except those with the In Library Only symbol

Magazines & Newspapers

Consumer Reports Consumer Reports -
*Now with Consumer Reports Health* - Access the trusted Consumer Reports website for free, to see ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice.
-
Consumer Reports Ebsco A-Z - Use this easy-to-navigate, searchable list to find all of the library's magazines, journals, newsletters and other serials. Resources are listed whether they are in print at your library branch, or available in full-text in an electronic database that you can access using your library card.
-
Flipster Flipster - View many popular magazines right on your computer or mobile device. All titles are full-page, full-color duplicates of the print titles and are available the same day the paper copies hit the newsstands.
-
InfoTrac Academic OneFile InfoTrac Academic OneFile  - (Journal Articles)Full-text peer-reviewed articles from more than 10,000 journals and reference sources.

-
InfoTrac General Onefile InfoTrac General OneFile  - (Magazine Articles)Full-text articles from over 8000 magazines, journals, newspapers and newswires.

-
Lexis Nexis Library Express Lexis Nexis Library Express - Federal & state court cases; statutes, codes and regulations; company information for 43 million businesses; news coverage including 1200 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, and broadcast transcripts
Note: Newspaper and business information is accessible outside the library – legal content is available in-library only.
-
New York Times New York Times  - Coverage from 1851 to today, with many years available as exact cover-to-cover digital reproductions, and full text coverage from 1980 to present.
-
Palm Beach Post Palm Beach Post  - Full text content from 1996 to present.
-
Proquest Newsstand Proquest/Gannett Newsstand - Online gateway to over 1,500 newspapers, incluging international, national, and local titles.
-
Sun Sentinel Sun Sentinel  - Selected full-text content from 1985 to present, of local and regional news.


-
Wall Street Journal Wall Street Journal  - Full-text content from 1984 to present.


-
Zinio Zinio - Some of our eMagazine titles have moved from Flipster to Zinio, which also contains many new titles. Including coloring books!
-



      
 
-

Science & Health Resources

APS Physics Journals

APS  - Access to full-text American Physical Society Journals.
-
Chilton Library

Chilton Library - Online access to repair, maintenance and service information on seven decades of cars, trucks, vans and SUVs.
-
CINAHL CINAHL® with Full Text  - provides full text for more than 610 nursing and allied health journals (and indexing for an additional 3000 journals) as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and more. With coverage dating back to 1981.
-
Consumer Reports Consumer Reports -
*Now with Consumer Reports Health* - Access the trusted Consumer Reports website for free, to see ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice.
-
Health and Wellness Resource Center Health & Wellness Resource Center  - Covers topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness, from encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
-
InfoTrac General OneFile InfoTrac General OneFile  -  (Magazine Articles) Full-text articles from over 8000 magazines, journals, newspapers and newswires.

-

Local Community Resources

Palm Beach Government Palm Beach County Government  - Provides access to selected Palm Beach County websites, including the School District, the Sheriff's Office, the Supervisor of Elections, and more.
-
Florida Electronic Library Florida Electronic Library  - Lists of books and serials titles (and specific holdings) owned by libraries in Florida, in the Florida Group Catalog. Explore journal articles and rich digital collections including historic documents, photographs and music. (For full access, sign up for a library Internet workstation or use your home computer.)

En Español

AtoZ Databases AtoZdatabases - Un directorio en línea que provee acceso a milliones de residencias y empresas. Incluye listas de ejecutivos, información financiera y artículos de periódicos y revistas. Es útil para la investigación de empresas y la busqueda de empleo.
-
Informe Informe  - Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
-
live homework help Live Homework Help en Español  - Tutorías Gratuitas • Matemáticas • Ciencias • Jardín de la infancia-12, Introducción a la Universidad e Estudiante Adulto. Domingo a Jueves de 2:00 pm hasta 10:00 pm.
-

 

Books & Media

Axis360 Axis360  - Delivers ebooks to Windows, smartphones and tablets running Android or iOS. Includes digital audiobooks in Acoustik format that can be listened to using smartphones and tablets running Android or iOS"
-
Books & Authors Books & Authors   - Combining thousands of titles and authors; and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps readers decide what to read next!
-
NetLibrary EBSCOhost eBook Collection  - A collection of eBooks (full-text electronic versions of published books), including over 21,000 titles across all subject areas.

-
Freegal Freegal   - Downloadable music service with music from over 10,000 labels , numbering 3 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of artists. Each card holder can download three music tracks per week.
-
Literature Resources from Gale Gale Artemis (formerly Literature Resources from Gale) - Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism, plus many shorter works in full text, of authors from every age and literary discipline.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library  - Electronic encyclopedias and reference books. Subjects include biography, literature, business, medicine, government, science, and more.

-
Hoopla Hoopla - is a digital media service that allows you to borrow free videos, music and audiobooks from home or anywhere you have an Internet connection. Thousands of movies, television shows, audiobooks and music albums are available to borrow and instantly stream on a tablet, smartphone or computer
-
PBCLS Web Catalog Library Catalog  - Lists more than one million items in our collection, including books, magazines, books on CD, DVDs, and music CDs.

-
Literature Criticism Online Literature Criticism Online  - Provides access to the full content of the following sets of Literature Criticism: Contemporary, Twentieth-Century, Nineteenth-Century, 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval, Poetry, Short Story, and Drama; plus Children’s Literature Review.
-
LitFinder LitFINDER  - An index to thousands of poems, short stories, plays, essays and speeches. Includes many in full-text, plus explanations, biographies, pictures, and more.
-
Novelist Novelist Plus  - Electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction and non-fiction readers in finding new authors and titles.

-
OCLC FirstSearch OCLC FirstSearch  - Bibliographic records and library holdings from around the world in OCLC WorldCat, and access to other databases for information on a variety of topics, including health, education, and government.
-
OneClick eAudioBooks OneClick  - Our newest collection of eAudiobooks. It contains some old and some new titles.
-
Online Reference Books Online Reference Books - Once accessible only in print at the library, now you can access these books online right through the library catalog. A collection of computer books, reference books and nonfiction titles across many subject areas.
-
Audio Books Overdrive eBooks and Audiobooks  - A collection of downloadable audiobooks and eBooks. Read or listen to these books on a computer or portable device.
-

Biography, History and Genealogy

Ancestry Library Edition Ancestry Library Edition  - A genealogy resource including over one billion records from databases such as the Social Security Death Index, U.S. Federal Census Images, Military, and Immigration and Naturalization Records.In Library Only
-
Biography in Context Biography in Context  - A comprehensive database of biographical information on over 320,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
-
Heritage Quest Heritage Quest  - A genealogy resource which includes over 25,000 family and local histories; census records, and more.

-
Proquest Newsstand ProQuest/Gannett Newsstand Obituary Search - Online gateway to over 1,300 newspapers with archives going back to the 1980's. For an obituary search, select the advanced search option and choose "obituary" under "document type".
-
Sanborn Maps Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970  - Digital access to large-scale, historic maps of nearly 150 Florida towns and cities; providing background information for genealogists, local historians, and urban planners.
-

Education

Basic ESL Basic ESL - English as a Second Language learning course, class software, and study tool to learn English online if you speak Spanish, Haitian Creole, Russian, Hindi, Japanese or more.
-
Career Transitions Career Transitions  - An online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process from beginning to end. Assists with creating resumes and cover letters, assessing career interests, finding job listings, and interview preparation.
-
Driving-Tests Driving-Tests.org  - Ace that permit test! Access car practice tests, motorcycle practice tests and drivers' handbooks for Florida. Everything you need to know about applying for and taking your drivers' test.

-
ERIC Education Database ERIC Education Database  - Database of education literature, contains article and document citations, and a wide range of full-text content.

-
Foundation Directory Online Foundation Directory Online (FDO)  - The Foundation Directory Online (FDO) is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. In Library Only
-
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online Foundation Grants to Individuals Online  - Searchable online resource devoted to foundations that provide funding for individuals, including educational, arts and cultural support.
-
Learning Express LearningExpress  - Online learning with skill building modules, test preparation materials and practice exams; including test preparation E-books. Take practice tests for GED, SAT, FCAT, fire fighter, postal worker and many more. Learn techniques for job searching , resumes, interviewing and workplace skills.

Library Literature Library Literature  - Contains full-text articles and citations on current library trends and developments.


-
Lynda.com Lynda.com  -   On-demand training resource with over 3000 professionally produced video courses on subjects ranging from public speaking to coding to graphic design.
-
Transparent Language Online Transparent Language Online  -   An online system for learning and developing language in a fun and engaging way. Includes tools and activities for learning over 80 languages, from Afrikaans to Zulu!
-
Tutor.com Tutor.com  - Work one-on-one with professional tutors to prepare for a citizenship test, prepare for the GED or get help with specific academic subjects; as well as job searching, resume writing, interview preparation and much more.
-

 

Business & Law

AtoZ Databases AtoZdatabases - Online directory providing access to millions of residences and businesses. Detailed business records contain lists of executives, financial information, public filings and even news articles.
-
Resource Center Demographics Now  - Demographic data that allows business owners and students building marketing plans to collect, analyze and quickly act upon that data.

-
Foundation Directory Online Foundation Directory Online (FDO)  - The Foundation Directory Online (FDO) is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. In Library Only
-
Gale Business Insights: Essentials - Business resource that delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data.
-
General BusinessFile ASAP General BusinessFile ASAP - Business content from a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings.
-
Gale Directory Library Gale Directory Library  - Includes the full content of Directories in Print, Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, and the Encyclopedia of Associations.
-
Lexis Nexis Lexis Nexis Library Express - Federal & state court cases; statutes, codes and regulations; company information for 43 million businesses; news coverage including 1200 newspapers, 300 magazines and journals, and broadcast transcripts
Note: Newspaper and business information is accessible outside the library – legal content is available in-library only.
-
US Legal Legal Forms - Thousands of legal forms including State, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms, as well as a wide variety of sample business letters.
-
MorningStar Morningstar  - In-depth financial information on more than 21,000 stocks and funds.

-
National Law Library

National Law Library-Florida Collection - Full text of the Florida Constitution, Statutes, Administrative Code, Rules of Procedure, Jury Instructions, and General Laws. Also includes Florida Case Law. In Library Only
* Main Library only
- Requires librarian assistance.

SRDS SRDS Media Solutions  - Online access to advertising rates for business publications, consumer magazines, newspapers, radio, TV and cable, print media, and the Internet; also with lifestyle and demographic profiles for over 210 designated market areas. In Library Only
-
Gale Small Business Resource Center - A comprehensive resource offering reference content that covers all major areas of starting and operating a business.
-
Valueline Valueline  - Includes Value Line Investment Survey Online, Value Line Daily Options, Value Line Special Situations Service, Value Line Electronic Convertibles.


For Students

Driving-Tests Driving-Tests.org  - Ace that permit test! Access car practice tests, motorcycle practice tests and drivers' handbooks for Florida. Everything you need to know about applying for and taking your drivers' test.

-
For Students For Students Collection  - Searches Drama for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students and Short Stories for Students.

-
Junior Reference Collection Research in Context  - For Middle Schools students, with content from all subject areas, includes primary sources and multimedia content, with audio and video clips and more than 7,400 photographs, maps and flags.
-
Kids InfoBits Kids InfoBits  - Includes content from all subject areas, from reference books, magazines and newspapers. Includes pictures, maps, and flags. Great for grades K-5.
-
Live Homework Help Online Live Homework Help Online!  - Free online tutoring in math, science, social studies and language arts. Grades K-12, College Intro and Adult Learners. Sunday - Thursday, 3 pm to 9 pm, and Saturday, 2 pm to 7 pm. Assistance in Spanish for Math and Science homework, Sunday - Thursday 2 pm - 10 pm.
-
Novelist K-* Novelist K-8 Plus  - Helps younger readers find the fiction and non-fiction books they want to read. Also includes reviews and Lexile Scores.

-
Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints  - Covers a wide range of social issues, and includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, court cases, and more.
-


World Almanac For Kids World Almanac For Kids - Ideal content for student reports, with extensive articles on animals, countries, states, science and history
-


eBooks

Download eBooks - As part of our Digital Media Collection, the Library offers eBooks in EPUB, PDF, and Kindle formats.
-

Great Links for Kids

Check Out These Cool Sites!

Kids Links

All databases are available from home except those with the In Library Only symbol.

Search All Gale Databases

Guide to Troubleshooting Electronic Resources Help

Ask a Librarian

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional